0

Lena Dunham Sells Advice Book to Random House for $3.5 Million

It’s been a busy few days for Lena Dunham. After appearing yesterday at The New Yorker Festival, where she discussed Girls with the magazine’s TV critic, Emily Nussbaum, she’s sold the book that’s recently been the focus of a press-hyped bidding war. Media Decoder reports that her essay collection, Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She’s Learned, has landed at Random House. Described by the publisher as “in the tradition of Helen Gurley Brown, David Sedaris, and Nora Ephron,” featuring “frank and funny advice on everything from sex to eating to traveling to work,” the book is expected to have fetched an advance of over $3.5 million. Frustrated young authors, it’s time to join frustrated young filmmakers and screenwriters in the Lena Dunham Envy Club. Hannah Horvath will see you there!

Filed Under:

0 comments
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,662 other followers