0

7 Chillingly Evil Corporations in Literature

Rachel Cantor’s debut novel, A Highly Unlikely Scenario (Melville House), will appeal to fans of Kurt Vonnegut, Ray Bradbury, and Douglas Adams, with its fusion of science fiction and literary fiction. The book’s plot, which concerns a future where fast food corporations run the world, is deliciously weird enough to work in its own warped way, walking the line between straight fantasy and fiction.

Can you imagine a world where Burger King really is the king, where Papa John is Big Brother, or where Colonel Sanders was worshiped as a deity? It might seem farfetched, but in a real world where some corporations earn more than some entire countries, and employ armies of workers, the idea might be more plausible than you think.

In A Highly Unlikely Scenario, the book’s protagonist works for Neetsa Pizza — a new bizarre corporation to add to the following list of the most memorably insane big businesses ideas in fiction along with these other six.

Jurassic%2BPark

InGen from Michael Crichton’s Jurassic Park

What can go wrong when a billionaire decides he wants to play God by recreating the DNA of dinosaurs so he can show off the resurrected creatures in a family-friendly theme park? That sounds like a really great idea.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,972 other followers