Raekwon and Ghostface Killah Announce Documentary

Hip-hop heads have this August marked on their calendars as the 20th anniversary of Raekwon and Ghostface Killah’s classic 1995… Read More

  • 0

“Stonemilker” Is the Saddest Song Björk Has Ever Written

Few occasions afford us the opportunity to collectively geek out to the extent that we are over Björk’s surprise (and surprisingly devastating!) release, Vulnicura. As critics scrambled to publish reviews, coverage of the album was hurried. Now that we’ve had a week to let it marinate, we can better discern the function of each song in the organism of this painfully thought-out album. “Stonemilker” — the first track, and the one most steeped in traditional Björkdom — begins her documentation of a relationship’s deterioration, and is the most uncertain. Unlike the pre- and post-breakup songs that come after it (each is demarcated by a time-stamp based on its proximity to her separation from Matthew Barney), its melody is decorated with faint glimmers of hope. But because we know the rest of the story, that hope, after a few listens, makes “Stonemilker” Vulnicura’s most tragic track — and perhaps the saddest Björk has ever written. … Read More

  • 0

Stream Bastardized Version of Father John Misty’s New Album Through His Fake Streaming Service, SAP

Josh Tillman, AKA Father John Misty, is releasing his new album I Love You, Honeybear via Sub Pop in the… Read More

  • 0

Why Kanye West, Rihanna, and Paul McCartney’s “FourFiveSeconds” Left Me Disappointed

This weekend, Kanye West, Rihanna, and Paul McCartney released “FourFiveSeconds,” a stripped-down, soulful jam. Rihanna delivers one of her best vocal performances ever atop an acoustic guitar hook — seemingly from Dirty Projectors’ David Longstreth — that wouldn’t sound out of place on an Ed Sheeran album. Kanye sings — sans AutoTune — with a defiant streak audible in his voice, about spending the night in jail (a true story, mind you) and the public coming for his pride. An organ, likely played by McCartney, and a hearty choir of voices flesh out the sound and give “FourFiveSeconds” a gospel feel as it progresses. … Read More

  • 0

Sam Smith Paying Tom Petty Royalties for “Stay With Me” in Lawsuit Settlement

“Stay With Me,” at least as Tom Petty would have you believe, may have unknowingly been inspired by a Tom Petty song… Read More

  • 0

The 5 Best New Songs We Heard This Week: St. Vincent’s Punk Banger, Toro y Moi’s Tame Impala Moment

New directions for indie standbys St. Vincent and Toro y Moi, plus songs from some of 2015’s most hopeful new artists, all in this week’s roundup. … Read More

  • 0

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,964 other followers