Florence and the Machine Announce New Album & Share Explosive Video for First Single


Florence and the Machine (Florence Welsh, Isabella Summer, etc.) have announced the upcoming release of their first album since 2011’s Ceremonials. The album, out in the US on June 2 via Island, is called How Big How Blue How Beautiful. Florence and the Machine is known for their sweepingly Lord of the Rings-worthy fantasy power ballads;  while normally the announcement of a new Florence album would be a call to brandish your elven swords and don your best bodices, Florence Welch suggested a departure from all that in a press release:

I guess although I’ve always dealt in fantasy and metaphor when I came to writing, that meant the songs this time were dealing much more in reality. Ceremonials was so fixated on death and water, and the idea of escape or transcendence through death, but the new album became about trying to learn how to live, and how to love in the world rather than trying to escape from it. Which is frightening because I’m not hiding behind anything but it felt like something I had to do.

The album is produced by Markus Dravs, who’s worked with Björk on Homogenic and The Arcade Fire on Neon Bible, The Suburbs and Reflektor. Here’s How Big How Blue How Beautiful‘s track list:

1. Ship to Wreck
2. What Kind of Man
3. How Big How Blue How Beautiful
4. Queen of Peace
5. Various Storms & Saints
6. Delilah
7. Long & Lost
8. Caught
9. Third Eye
10. St Jude
11. Mother

And here’s the just-released, NSFW video for the album’s first explosion of a single, “What Kind of Man”: