This Year’s Guggenheim Fellows Include Susan Orlean and Claire Watkins

The Guggenheim fellows were announced this morning, and a slew of excellent writers have been honored with “on the basis of impressive achievement in the past and exceptional promise for future accomplishment.” Fiction includes such critically acclaimed authors like Hari Kunzru (Gods Without Men), Julie Orringer (The Invisible Bridge), and Claire Watkins (Battleborn); nonfiction includes Susan Orlean (The Orchid Thief), Meghan O’Rourke (The Long Goodbye), and D.T. Max (Every Love Story is a Ghost Story: A Life of David Foster Wallace). Congratulations to all, and we’re waiting with baited breath for your next project. Check out a complete list of winners here.