Brooklyn

Patti LuPone “Hijacked” Audience Member’s Cell Phone, Jon Snow Hijacked Hearts: Links You Need to See

By

Many were paralyzed by the stabbing of Jon Snow in Game of Thrones‘ Season 5 finale. The shock was followed by a stage of mourning — for some, a very extravagant stage. But now people are finally starting to accept that he’s really gone and added to the dehumanizing tally of characters Game of Thrones has killed off. Grouping him in with other such characters while still giving him a proper memorial, Youtube user Citizen Girl has put together a GoT death-themed parody cover of Weezer’s “Say it Ain’t So,” titled, you guessed it, “Say it Ain’t Snow.” 
…Read More

Musical Theater Eats Itself and America Gets a New Poet Laureate: Links You Need To See

By

Hey, you, Yuccie. Yes, you. Apparently, there’s a new term in town to describe the “millenn-intelligensia” roaming parts of northern Brooklyn and other major U.S. cities. Characteristics include: believing that your talents aren’t being tapped at your current job and owning multiple copies of Freedom by Jonathan Franzen. Yuccies might not be so willing to admit to liking musical theater (but may secretly harbor a flame for it), and thus might allege that they find the musical-theater-is-eating-itself news of Smash‘s fake Broadway musical being performed on Broadway off-putting. They might, however, be more vocally interested to hear that Hillary Clinton has a new Instagram account, which is trying to make #Hillary2016 move from the Internetz into the White House. The first photo? Nine pantsuits.
…Read More

A Report From the Exorcism and Levitation of Brooklyn’s New Vice Media Headquarters

By

Employees of Vice Media gathered in the atrium of their Williamsburg office on Tuesday afternoon and pointed their phone-cameras out the front door as a group stood on the sidewalk chanting, “Out, demons, out.” Led by jazz-pranksters Talibam!, a group of almost three dozen followed the procedures of the exorcism, overseen by keyboardist Matt Mottel. “Out, demons, out,” the assembled continued to chant, as the snow fell harder and faster. Small children beat on drums, and noise came from an electric guitar, a harmonica, and hand percussion. A man in a ski mask and blue crash helmet (topped with a cone of insulation foam) pierced the din by fairly expertly playing a balloon. The noise, in turn, triggered a car alarm, which bleated and flashed in sympathy with the oppressed. Almost everyone on both sides of the glass seemed to be documenting the event.
…Read More

Can This Small Publisher’s Radiohead-Style Plan Change the Way Books Are Sold?

By

With the release poet Noah Eli Gordon’s The Word Kingdom in the Word Kingdom, Brooklyn Arts Press is attempting something rare in small publishing — they are trying to change the way books are sold. Specifically, BAP, run by managing editor and publisher Joe Pan, is selling Gordon’s books via a “pay what you want” model, in the vein of Radiohead and Louis CK, albeit with some significant differences. To begin with (and perhaps surprisingly) BAP is selling physical and not digital copies of the book — you pay only a five dollar S&H fee along with whatever price you choose. And the obvious thing: Radiohead and Louis CK were able to implement such a model because they are famous. Although Gordon is not famous, Brooklyn Arts Press is hoping that word-of-mouth, the model itself, and the quality of the book, which is excellent, will help drive sales. And it already seems to be working.
…Read More

With ‘Round-Up,’ Sufjan Stevens Goes to the Rodeo — But Not the Country

By

In 2007, when people were expecting Sufjan Stevens to make another modest ode to Midwestern depression, he offered up a film project inspired by one of New York City’s greatest eyesores: the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway. The BQEhis first work commissioned by local arts institution Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM), paired footage of the outer boroughs and its raised highway with an orchestral score as dramatic as it gets, seemingly in an attempt to extract beauty from an urban monstrosity. This week, Stevens premiered a counterpoint of sorts to The BQE via his second BAM-commissioned soundtrack, Round-Up. (If The BQE is any indication, the score will be released later on down the line, too.)
…Read More