louis c.k.

Can This Small Publisher’s Radiohead-Style Plan Change the Way Books Are Sold?

With the release poet Noah Eli Gordon’s The Word Kingdom in the Word Kingdom, Brooklyn Arts Press is attempting something rare in small publishing — they are trying to change the way books are sold. Specifically, BAP, run by managing editor and publisher Joe Pan, is selling Gordon’s books via a “pay what you want” model, in the vein of Radiohead and Louis CK, albeit with some significant differences. To begin with (and perhaps surprisingly) BAP is selling physical and not digital copies of the book — you pay only a five dollar S&H fee along with whatever price you choose. And the obvious thing: Radiohead and Louis CK were able to implement such a model because they are famous. Although Gordon is not famous, Brooklyn Arts Press is hoping that word-of-mouth, the model itself, and the quality of the book, which is excellent, will help drive sales. And it already seems to be working. … Read More

  • 0

This Week’s Top 5 TV Moments: Treat Yo Self 2017

There are scores of TV shows out there, with dozens of new episodes each week, not to mention everything you can find on Hulu Plus, Netflix streaming, and HBO Go. How’s a viewer to keep up? To help you sort through all that television has to offer, Flavorwire is compiling the five best moments on TV each week. This time, Parenthood says its goodbyes and Scandal returns to primetime. … Read More

  • 0

Louis C.K.’s ‘Live at the Comedy Store’ Is a Special With the Spontaneity of a Workshop Set

In Louis C.K.’s (second) email accompanying the announcement of his surprise new special Live at the Comedy Store, the comedian talked about small comedy clubs (as opposed to the larger theaters he’s been performing in) and why they have been — and remain — so important to him as an inventive, constantly performing comedian. Live at the Comedy Store was, as the title suggests, filmed at The Comedy Store in Los Angeles, one of the many smaller comedy clubs where C.K. paid his dues as a comedian, and one that he still goes back to. Available via his website for $5, the special is something of a tribute to these clubs. It is also, of course, uproariously funny. … Read More

  • 0

Flavorwire’s 2014 Holiday Gift Guide: 50 Gifts for 50 Cultural Icons

It’s that time of year again: the season of the holiday gift guide. And in keeping with tradition, if you’re looking for a present for that special cultural icon of yours (or just someone who reminds you of a certain famous face), Flavorwire has you covered. Here are our gift recommendations for some of the year’s biggest names in culture, whether they be naughty, nice, or lurking somewhere in… Read More

  • 0

Why Did Louis C.K. Leave Twitter?

A couple weeks ago, Louis C.K. went on a intense rant about ISIS on Twitter. Over the weekend, his Twitter… Read More

  • 0

50 Cultural Icons on Their Favorite Books

Everybody loves a good book. Yes, everybody — even the rich, famous and culturally relevant. And since there’s nothing better than a book recommendation from someone you already idolize, why not check out which ones they count as their favorites? Maybe you’ll wind up finding out that you have even more in common with Lady Gaga than you thought. Click through to find out which books your favorite cultural icons, from Bill Murray to Joan Didion to Nas, love best — and get to padding that reading… Read More

  • 0

50 Cultural Icons on What They Were Like as Teenagers

It’s hard out there for a teenager. It’s even kind of hard out there for those of us who used to be teenagers — especially in these back-to-school months, when the nostalgia comes creeping up like those floods we used to wear and never, ever should again. But you know who was probably even stranger than you in high school? Your favorite cultural icon. Or maybe not — as is only to be expected, some had joyful (and/or prank-filled) teenage years, some suffered tragedies, some were completely weird, some were popular, and some deserve our respect for even getting through. Click through to read 50 cultural icons on their teenage… Read More

  • 0

Tim Heidecker on the Tim & Eric Tour and New Show ‘Bedtime Stories': “We Were Inspired by ‘Louie'”

Tim & Eric know when to move along — literally and figuratively. Throughout their ten years on Adult Swim, Tim Heidecker and Eric Wareheim have created three different shows — Tom Goes to the Mayor, Tim & Eric Awesome Show Great Job!, Check It Out! with Dr. Steve Brule — with varying formats and characters, but always featuring their signature mix of deadpan, satire, and gross-out/surrealist humor. Later this month, they’ll debut their fourth Adult Swim series, Tim & Eric’s Bedtime Stories, but they hit the road this week for a look back at Awesome Show with a North American tour alongside Dr. Steve Brule (i.e., John C. Reilly’s greatest role). … Read More

  • 0
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 18,690 other followers