Radiohead

Thom Yorke Is Composing the Music for the Clive Owen-Starring Broadway Production of ‘Old Times’

By

Harold Pinter’s Old Times, which is being revived on Broadway this Fall, is known for its ambiguity and possible life/death liminality. The vague and ghostly (both literally and atmospherically) work sees a married couple in their farmhouse visited by the wife’s friend and former roommate from 20 years earlier, and after she tells the story of a random, incessantly sobbing man in their old room, the venom and possible violence underlying their “friendship” starts to show itself.
…Read More

It’s Time to Parse ‘Wet Hot American Summer’: Links You Need to See

By

For some, it’s Summer. For many, it’s wet. For others, it’s hot. For 318 million, it’s Amer— yeah, you get it. And for those who binged their weekend away with the Netflix prequel series (very nearly spelled out above) and, after a full First Day of Camp, are desperately sad that there isn’t a second day to consume, there are at least plenty of related articles to ensure continued immersion.
…Read More

How Would Radiohead’s “Karma Police” Look as a Painting?: Links You Need to See

By

Summer is finally settling down around us, and the warm weather will probably have you thinking about all the awesome things you want to do, while simultaneously distracting you from actually doing any of it. If one of your goals for something to pretend to be interested in accomplishing this Summer is writing, then you should read these rather educational pretend-letters between Hemingway and Fitzgerald about The Great Gatsby. 
…Read More

Can This Small Publisher’s Radiohead-Style Plan Change the Way Books Are Sold?

By

With the release poet Noah Eli Gordon’s The Word Kingdom in the Word Kingdom, Brooklyn Arts Press is attempting something rare in small publishing — they are trying to change the way books are sold. Specifically, BAP, run by managing editor and publisher Joe Pan, is selling Gordon’s books via a “pay what you want” model, in the vein of Radiohead and Louis CK, albeit with some significant differences. To begin with (and perhaps surprisingly) BAP is selling physical and not digital copies of the book — you pay only a five dollar S&H fee along with whatever price you choose. And the obvious thing: Radiohead and Louis CK were able to implement such a model because they are famous. Although Gordon is not famous, Brooklyn Arts Press is hoping that word-of-mouth, the model itself, and the quality of the book, which is excellent, will help drive sales. And it already seems to be working.
…Read More