Daily Poll: Is It Time to Delete Your Facebook Account?

File this under “Uncool, Facebook.” Consumerist reports:

“Facebook’s terms of service (TOS) used to say that when you closed an account on their network, any rights they claimed to the original content you uploaded would expire. Not anymore. Now, anything you upload to Facebook can be used by Facebook in any way they deem fit, forever, no matter what you do later. Want to close your account? Good for you, but Facebook still has the right to do whatever it wants with your old content. They can even sublicense it if they want.”

As a large chunk of our readership is made up of creative types, we’re assuming this news — and the idea of FB having unlimited, do-whatever-we-want rights with your uploaded images/video/writing  — might lead many users to cancel their accounts. Or maybe you saw this coming and limit what you post on the site. (Side note: If anyone with a legal background would like to explain how they’re allowed to do this in the comments, we’d really appreciate it.)

Either way, what we’re wondering is:

{democracy:33}