There’s a Fascinating-Looking New David Bowie Documentary Premiering on the BBC This Weekend

If you’re looking for something to watch this weekend, a bit of creative internetting might lead you to a viewing of The Last Five Years, a new David Bowie documentary that’s premiering on BBC Two on Saturday night (British time.) According to Pitchfork, the documentary focuses, as its title suggests, on Bowie’s final five years on earth, a period that encompassed his surprise comeback from apparent retirement, the release of his comeback album The Next Day, the conception and creation of his masterful final album Blackstar, and his death from cancer in January last year.

The film features a wealth of material that Bowie fans will find fascinating. There are interviews with various collaborators, including artist Jonathan Barnbrook (who created The Next Day‘s cover art), Lazarus producer Robert Fox, video director Johan Renck, and musicians Maria Schneider and Donny McCaslin. There’s also a series of isolated vocal tracks, in-studio footage, and Bowie and producer Tony Visconti joking about mouse farts, apparently. The film screens on BBC Two at 9pm GMT (which is 4pm EST and 1pm PST.)